Top Bar
           
Bottom Bar

Student Resources

Champions for Children Logo with a red apple on topSOAR is an innovative program that makes it easy for parents to play an active role in their child’s education.  SOAR is designed for military families and is easily accessible worldwide.  Even if you are not military, this site provides a wealth of information for the rest of the public. SOAR Home is an internet-based application.  Students take an assessment aligned to state standards, and SOAR directs them to an individualized tutorial to improve skills where assistance may be needed.  Parents can monitor their child’s progress from anywhere and are provided with resource materials. Register for SOAR www.militarystudent.org.

 

Parent Components Include:

  • Easy access to their child’s accounts
  • Links to military installation, transition resources and school Websites
  • Resources for at-home learning activities including videos with ancillary materials
  • State-specific resources, such as state learning standards
  • Links to Department of Education and other Educational Resources Websites

Student Components Include:

  • Assessments aligned with state standards to identify their strength and weaknesses in reading and mathematics
  • Tutorial lessons to reinforce and review skills not mastered
  • Videos based on specific skill with related ancillary materials
  • ACT/SAT prep materials including strategies, practice questions and more

Registering for SOAR:

1. Log on the Military Impacted Schools Association (MISA) Website at www.militarystudent.org
2. Click on the SOAR button (at the bottom of the page) on the Website
3. Register yourself and your child
4. Students can begin taking assessments immediately
5. Parents and children can then enjoy skills resources, analysis of assessments, utilize skills tutor lessons, view parent resources, and students can take additional targeted quizzes based on one skill.

Supply List

Free Homework Help Online – Tutor.com



Cumberland County Public Library and Information Center – www.cumberland.lib.nc.us 


This iAa list of websites approved by Cumberland County Schools.Schools.

A Math Dictionary for Kids http://www.amathsdictionaryforkids.com
AAA Math http://www.aaamath.com/
Ben’s Guide to US Government for Kids http://bensguide.gpo.gov/pt/index.html
College Funding Solutions, Inc http://www.mycollegeinfo.com/
College Scholarships, and Finacial Aid Page http://www.college-scholarships.com/
CollegeNET http://www.collegenet.com/
Fact Monster http://www.factmonster.com/index.html
Fayetteville State University http://www.uncfsu.edu/.edu/
Fayetteville Technical Community College http://www.faytechcc.edu/
Girlstart http://www.girlstart.org/
Guaranteed Scholarships http://www.guaranteed-scholarships.com/
Kidscom http://www.kidscom.com/
Lesson Corner http://www.lessoncorner.com/
Library Spot http://www.libraryspot.com/
Math Expression http://www.mathexpression.com/index.html
Methodist University http://www.methodist.edu/
National College Funding Services http://www.ncfs-inc.com/pcbest/
NC WiseOwl http://www.ncwiseowl.org
Peterson’s StudentEdge http://www.studentedge.com/studentedge/default.aspx
Resources About Weather and Climate Topics http://www.guidetoonlineschools.com/library/weather-resources
Scholarship Help http://www.mycollegescholarship.org
Social Networking Sites: Safety Tips for Tweens and Teens http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/edu/pubs/consumer/tech/tec14.shtm
Students Against Violence Everywhere http://www.nationalsave.org
Study Guide Zone http://www.studyguidezone.com/
Study Island http://www.studyisland.com
The Black Collegian Online http://www.black-collegian.com/
Word Central, Student Dictionary http://www.wordcentral.com/aol/index.html

 

 

.........................................................................................................................................
Published by Carol Dunning on October 26, 2016
Bottom Bar
 
  • Visit links for more information

   
   
  • Visit links for more information

 
 
Bottom Bar
Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306
910.678.2300
© Cumberland County Schools

Send questions or comments to Web Manager

Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias